1911Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,646 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am thinking of getting a pair of navidrex grips...anyone tell me the difference (or can show me) between the black micarta and the grained ebony...I assume they are both black but it is hard to tell details from the little pics at Brownell's....thanks...

·
Registered
564 Posts
I have a MK III in 9mm with Navidrex thin micarta grips. After I did some fitting the grips fit perfectly and provide a thin profile.

·
Administrator
13,257 Posts
I have the thin Navidrex micarta on one and the Navidrex "rosewood" on another . I'm not much help . I like them both .

·
Registered
51 Posts
I have some experience with Navidrex grips.

Round one:
I have originally ordered a pair of Grained Ebony and Thin Micarta from Brownells. Micarta was too thin but it fit the gun nicely. Grained Ebony was good looking and classy but both sides were warped and the fit much less than ideal. I even got my hand pinched in the space between the grip and frame.

Round two:
I placed an order for many more sets of Grained Ebony and a few Dymondwood (red toned) grips. Again, NONE of the Ebony grips fit correctly - all of them were warped. Dymondwood was nicer and I picked a pair that had a great fit and colors were matched. The rest of grips went back for a refund.

If you are going for the black look, forget about Grained Ebony, they are NOT black. Micarta was nice, I just did not like the feel because they are TOO thin. If you are ordering from Brownells, order a few sets so you can pick. They will be happy (and quick) to refund your money without any hassle.

P.S. To get an idea on the thickness and fit, you can see some pictures of my pistol with the Dymondwood grips:

http://www.hunt101.com/showgallery.php?ppuser=8003&cat=500

Never mind the FEG, it was sold a few days ago.