1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 66 Posts

·
Registered
178 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been shooting handguns for 45 years.
About 10 years ago, at age 53, I began shaking.
I can hold solid as a rock still, but as soon as any pressure is applied to the trigger the front sight is useless. I can release pressure, get a solid sight picture again only to have a repeat situation. My 2" offhand groups at 75' now look like a shotgun blast. I can dry fire solid all day long. And no, I'm not recoil shy. I think this is something physical.
Kimber Gold Match 45
Springfield RO 9mm
Any simular experiences or remedies would be greatly appreciated.

·
Premium Member
7,274 Posts
Yeah, I’ve been looking for that fountain of youth myself!
I don’t have that issue, but plenty of others that a bit of that water might help!
I’ll not pretend to give sound advice on physiology, but I bet the pressure is triggering certain nerve groups that are tired of you pounding on them! :)

·
Registered
3,115 Posts
It's probably nothing, but I'd see a doctor. I'm 65 and I'll shake a little for the first few rounds if I'm shooting something like 45 out of a LW Commander or +P out of a LW, and I haven't shot for a few days. I just shot a Steel Challenge match last Saturday and I shook a little on the first set of targets, but I believe that was nervousness. After I warm up/get comfortable, the shaking stops.

The hands get weaker as we age and the blood flow and nerves in the hands get constricted to a degree. There are medical tests to determine the amount of constriction and/or nerve damage. Or, it might just be the onset of arthritis. I'd start taking Vitamin B12 to help repair damaged nerves at the very least.

·
Registered
178 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
War Wagon.....just wait, it gets worse!
FWIW, I have been sure to eat & drink before shooting. I'm a smaller guy, but never had this issue when younger. So if it's just age I guess my competitive days are over. That sucks.

·
Registered
709 Posts