1911Forum banner
1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
220 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been shooting IDPA for 4 years and have been seeing somthing more than when I started out in this game. All of the different clubs in my area as well as the regional matches I have shot, about 13, all seem to feel it is ok to put thier slant on the IDPA rules. When one points the rules out, they are told, "its our gig", and this is the way it is. I do not agree with this type of operation, but I go along. Does anyone else see this in thier area clubs?

·
Registered
3,312 Posts
Clubs are allowed to have leeway in that thier ranges may require more strict safety rules than IDPA. Also, it is my personal feeling that clubs should try to follow the rules as closely as possible. I have seen on more than one occasion a shooter who has shot a lot of club matches, but their first sanctioned match, get several procedurals, because their club was either lax, or just did it differently. All the clubs in my area follow the book fairly well.

How about giving us an example?

·
Registered
769 Posts
They are really doing their shooters a disservice. Like John said when they go to a major sanctioned match they will be susceptible taking procedurals. Nothing is perfect for sure but clubs and matches are only as good as the MD's and SO's make them. Best bet is to get involved become an SO or MD and exert your influence that way.

·
Registered
301 Posts
Consistency is good

Samray,

You bring up some good points. At our matches I see some deviation from the "letter of the law" in order to accomodate the range layout, and available equipment. I don't have any problem with that, what I find curious is the differences between SO's.

For example, some SO's are trying to do things by the book, but using their commons sense when necessary to accomdate the COF or other issues that may create a conflict with safe practices. I OK with this, in fact I am glad we have SO's that can think on their feet.