1911Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 156 Posts

·
Registered
1,931 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm an approved instructor for our new Illinois concealed carry permit, also have the approved course curriculum approved. Been a licensee firearms instructor way before this bill came into affect. A lot of student applicants are excited about this new law, however, when the students realize all the prohibitions, restrictions, "shall not rules" restrictions for parks, forest preserves districts, malls, schools, college and university, public parks, restrictions for public gatherings, special events, restrictions for public transportation, parking areas, and the list goes on. Stiff penalties for violating restricted areas, legal ramifications and charges at the end of the day, it seems that permit holders don't really truly have a permit to protect themselves.

Yes Illinois does have a so called, "concealed carry law" but when you read the fine print, get to know the restrictions and the law, some may even feel that it's just better to leave the firearm behind, locked and stored in a secure place.

$150 application fee, not including passport photo cost, fingerprint cost which could be anywhere from $55 to $75 and out of states residents applicants $300 fee, renewal every 5 yrs.. Wow it just amazes me how all these pro guy lobby groups truly bent over and allowed this to happen. Many won't be able to afford the fees involved, training hours required, and lastly many won't be able to pass the range qualification shoot course. However, Illinois state police is anticipating over 800,000 applicants in the first year along... Do the math!

$12,000,000 in the first year along!!! Seems to me that Illinois politicians looked at this opportunity as a cash cow.. It's just mind boggling!

·
Registered
977 Posts
You're preaching to the choir you know?