1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a newbie here but I have owned 1911s for over 35 yrs. so the design is not new to me. I used to consider the 1911 reliable but now I read many saying the design is "inherently unreliable". They describe Sigs, Glocks, H&Ks, Walthers ect as inherently reliable. Since there is only one source for each of these and many sources of 1911 and since the 1911 has been around for so long there are many different levels of quality for the 1911 but not for the others.

This is where my confusion exist. I have seen and even owned some poor quality or variable quality 1911s and I positive that if any of the newer designs where produced with the same poor or hit and miss quality they would be unreliable also.

I have heard some say their failure rate was around 1% which means they have 1 failure every 100 rnds. However I have owned and still own 1911s that have never failed to go bang in thousands of rnds.

So my question is how do you seperate out the old worn out 1911s, low quality 1911s, the poorly assembled 1911s, the 1911s fed marginal ammo, from the design itself?

How do you wade through the tremendous variabily of 1911s compared to the single source uber guns and know that the design intself is unreliable?

The reason I ask is because this unreliable design idea suggest that I should get rid of even the 1911s that have never failed even once or the ones with less than 0.1% failure rates because the design is flawed. Even though I waded through a lot of individual 1911s to find the ones that work well, it was for nothing.

In other words it is not the individual gun but the design that is the sole determining factor.

Forgive the long post but this has been bothering me since I began reading the threads in this forum.

·
Registered
11,105 Posts
I think people saying that 1911s are inherently unreliable are full of crap.