1911Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi. Newbie here looking for advice. I recently joined an indoor pistol club and now want to add a 1911 to my collection. It seems that these are the pistols of choice for most of the members. Plus my .22lr pee shooter is getting bland. I am not a rich man and have two young boys, wife, humble home, dog... so I won't be buying a Wilson. My budget is $700 tops out the door. So I want to be very careful that I get exactly what I want/need. I have been trying to educate myself, but still have many questions that I am not clear on. Here are a few:

I really, really like the looks of a blued gun, but I think a stainless will be more durable. I will never holster this gun. I have a 9mm carry gun. Will a blued gun be ok and look good for a long time? Any disadvantages to either?

I found a gun that I am considering. It has Millett fully adjustable rear sights. Are these quality sights?

I like a checkered front strap. Why are most 1911's not checkered? The same gun that I am considering does have a checked front strap. Is this a sign of a premium gun?

What is a Kings Pad???

What is a combat hammer and its purpose?

Lastly, what should I reasonably expect for my budget?

Thanks in advance for any help that I receive.

Best Regards,

...luker

·
Banned
14,948 Posts
Welcome to the Forum.

A blued pistol will look fine as long as you wipe it down regularily with a quality lube. You state that it will not see a holster, so wear is not a concern. A blued pistol will be fine. A stainless pistol is easier to refinish should it get scratched however.

Millet sights are OK. Bomars are better IMO - but pricier.