1911Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
218 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a fairly new reloader, I have been reloading 9mm and 45acp for about 6 months.
So far I have used 2 pounds of HP 38 with great results in both calibers.

I have run out of this and can't find any, so I am testing Titegroup and 700X.
The HP 38 metered great usual variance less than + or - .1. Titegroup pretty similar results.
I just loaded 15 rounds of 700X to test in 45acp and I am getting variance from 4.6g to 5.0g within 5 throws of the handle. I cycled the powder for about 40-50 times still got that kind of variance.
All of it is well below maximum of 5.3g on 200 LSWC, but is this a concern that I am seeing this much variance?

Thanks for your help

·
Registered
15,317 Posts
Not out to 40--50 yards.

Past that minor charge variances get magnified.

·
Registered
218 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Good, most of my shooting is 30-50 feet, draw from a holster. I'll just plan to stay around 4.8 and should be okay with the variance.

Thanks again

·
Registered
617 Posts
Be careful...for I too have just started using 700-X, and it meters very poorly with my powder measure. I chose to load 4.6 grains of 700-X, and I would get some drops above the 5.3 gr max load--way above! Therefore, I just load them the old fashion way: one at a time. Not a big deal when loading 50-100 rounds. Except for this metering problem, I have found 700-X to be an excellent choice or alternative (I too like HP-38) for the .45 ACP.

·
Registered
15,317 Posts
I could never get consistent metering with 700X, but I still have and use it. Very clean, with high accuracy potential.
I just set my measure a bit low......

·
Banned
723 Posts
I'm a fairly new reloader, I have been reloading 9mm and 45acp for about 6 months.
So far I have used 2 pounds of HP 38 with great results in both calibers.

I have run out of this and can't find any, so I am testing Titegroup and 700X.