1911Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Finding powder around here has been a lost cause. Any shipments to the major outlets is gone 10 minutes after they open. But a local tucked away feed store has a very good supply of bullets, primers and some powders. I picked up some IMR SR7625 based on their load data book as it looked to be good for 45 ACP and maybe mild/std .38 spl, .44 spl and even mild 45 Colt. I have no experience with IMR powder and hope the members can give me some of their experience. The manager told me he usually has it on the shelf. SR7625 is a couple bucks more expensive per lb. than other brands but I'll pick up more if you folks recommend it.
Thanks.

·
Registered
486 Posts
IMR’s web site has a Handloader’s Guide that lists SR7625 for 45 acp.

http://www.imrpowder.com/pdf/IMR_handgun.pdf

“The powder charge weights specified represent loads that developed Maximum Allowable Chamber Pressures with the test barrels and components used, with the exception of loads that are specified as (C) compressed charges and therefore may represent case capacity rather than maximum chamber pressure, and loads that duplicate factory velocity. All tests were conducted utilizing commercial barrels in a Universal Receive”

I would reduce the loads by 10 to 12% and start there, working your way up to what is listed as max load.

·
Registered
7,261 Posts
I got a bit over 3 lbs. from a fellow reloader a while back. I use it in both 45 and 9mm ... plated and FMJ. I like it. 45 rounds are loaded in the middle to upper middle of the data and 9mm a little closer to the top. It tends to leave a little "soot" on some of the empties but it's still fairly clean ... strange as that may sound. But I haven't loaded down near starting charge since first working up in increments when I first got it so really cant comment on how it does in real mild loads.