1911Forum banner

Installing Grip safety.

1594 Views 8 Replies 8 Participants Last post by  Sistema1927
I am a newbie to 1911s, but not to mechanical work on guns [or other things]. I am considering installing a wider grip safety, but I have a couple of questions about it I was hoping someone would help me with.

First off, is there a wider/more beavertailed grip safety than standard [on 1911A1 mil-spec] that will allow me to use the original hammer [gun made in late 30s/early 40s]? I am not 'dying' for one of the new hammers. I would have no arguement with changing only the grip safety and the thumb safety [and sights], but leaving the rest stock: if it can be done.

Second off, what do I need to do to replace the grip safety itself? I have heard about 'radiusing', but am unclear on the location/reason.

I know: If you don't know what you are doing, don't screw with it. This is a starter 1911 for me. I am planning on buying the Kuhnhausen books this weekend, or ordering them on Monday [if my local gunshow doesn't have them] to use as a reference. I have done complete trigger jobs on my Baby Eagle [polishing every contact point & pulling every pin out of pistol to do it], as well as a couple others, so I am not a novice- just a novice to 1911s. I am very mechanically apt, but am ignorant about the 1911 mechanicals. Can someone enlighten me please?

Thanks,

jason
1 - 9 of 9 Posts
...Call Kings Gun Works, 1-800-282-9449. They
make grip safeties that will work with the original hammers...
Barry
So does Wilson.

Kings http://www.kingsgunworks.com

Wilsons http://www.wilsoncombat.com

------------------
Ne Conjuge Nobiscum
MOLON LABE
Leonidas c 480 BC
FFF
See less See more
Originally posted by jmstr:
Second off, what do I need to do to replace the grip safety itself? I have heard about 'radiusing', but am unclear on the location/reason.