1911Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
154 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm totally new to the 1911 types,but after much reasearch (including this board)am very interested in getting into this...Hobby?....Anyhow I thought I'd start out with the original.I kinda like the utilitarian looks of the basic 1991 A1 models and was wondering if these guns would be servicable for defense out of the box.

Please guive me examples of accuracy achieved and/or problems that might need to be adressed.Eventually I'd like to have some work done as the cashflow permits,but would like to be able to make this piece usefull with just the purchase price for now.

Thanks for any info you all can share.Byron

·
Registered
1,141 Posts
New guns are a lot like new motorcycles in that you can't 'test drive' them before buying. Oh sure, you can rent a similar model at a range or shoot a friend's gun... but all are different. Even if sequentially serial numbered. Recent 1991A1s have been great, very well done. Go with it.... if it needs a reliability job (unlikely) then send it off. Most 'smiths charge about a hundred bucks.

Test fire several different types of ammo in whatever magazines you plan to use (I recommend Wilson's 47Ds in ALL 1911s). Stick with what works flawlessly. Let us know what you end up getting and how everything works out.

Callahan

·
Registered
154 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Harry,Its good to here that Colt's quality is reaching a higher standard recently.I've heard this mentioned in several posts.