1911Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Yesterday I bought a Remington 1911 A1 R1. The gun store prices for ammo was really high so I stopped off at Walmart to stock up. The "expert" at the ammo counter ask me if I wanted ACP or Auto. I am new to 1911s and my gun has 45 Auto on the barrel, so I bought a box of Remington .45 Auto FMJ.
My question is there a difference in ACP and Auto? From what I have read on Wikipidia they are the same.
What is the real truth?:confused:

·
Super Moderator
EDC: SIG P938.
22,731 Posts
Same-same.

·
Registered
1,215 Posts
45 ACP is the ammunition that the 45 AUTOMATIC COLTS use. (A.C.P. = Automatic Colt Pistol)
45 Auto is the name of the ammo that the rest of them shoot because they are embarrassed that they are not Colts.

(Actually the ammunition is one and the same)

·
Registered
801 Posts
One more variable in the mix is 45 GAP. (Glock Auto Pistol) a shortened 45 round that WILL NOT WORK. But yes 45 ACP (Automatic Colt Pistol) & 45 Auto are the same. As mentioned, colt .45 LC is the cowboy round & will not work.
I refuse to acknowledge the above listed round suggest everyone else do the same. :biglaugh:

·
Premium Member
705 Posts
What round??? :biglaugh:

·
Registered
2,666 Posts
And no .45 Auto Rim but I doubt you'll ever see a box at Wally World.

·
Registered
103 Posts
Is there any difference in .45 auto and .45 ACP