1911Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
503 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
.I am new to hi-powers. My first one was an internal extractor type I bought from AIM surplus. Well the extractor was beat up and would only extract the first 2 and last 2 of each mag without double-feeding. I bought a replacement extractor($90) and had a gunsmith fit it ($90) and the problem continues. The gun had an old mag so I purchased 3 new FN mags from Italy. Both the old and new mags have double-feeds/failure to extract. When I rack the slide back, the round comes out fine. I could go through a whole mag without a problem. But when firing, it does not always.

I used the mags in a newer Argentine FM Hi Power with external extractor, and that one also had some double-feeds.

Are the mags the problem?
Is this a common problem with hi powers?
How do I fix this?

·
Registered
621 Posts
I have not had problems with double feeding, no matter what brand of magazine I have used. Those FN mags should have been good to go.

·
Registered
517 Posts
Is this a common problem with Hi Powers?
Failure to extract or feed is probably the most predominant malfunction issue with any auto feeding pistol, but no, it's not any more common with hi powers, even the early ones as far as I can tell.

Are the mags the problem?
It doesn't sound like it. Sounds more like insufficient tension on the extractor. Operating the slide by hand won't always tell the story, more things/speeds happening during live fire.

How do I fix this?
Early Hi Powers with internal extractors are less popular than newer, external extractor Hi Powers, but there is likely someone on this forum familiar with them that can offer some recommendations.
My suggestion would be to return it to the gunsmith who worked on it.

·
Registered
9,139 Posts
It sounds to me like your internal extractor still isn't adjusted properly.

·
Registered
688 Posts