1911Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
898 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Bear with me people, this is my first attempt at pic posting.(one of my sons was in town and brought his camera).

100% origional Sist.,bought a bunch of them in 1956/57 for about $26/$27 ea.(to lazy to dig out paper work.

Should have wiped off preservative,lint and the like first but didn't think of it.

Stumpy

Did something wrong,didn't come up:scratch:

·
Registered
898 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Last pic..

If you can make it out,look at the slide to frame fit,I swear it's not more than 1 or 2 thousands of an inch,I would be afraid of that close tolerance fit under battlefield conditions,but boy it sure is smooth,almost like it was on ball bearings.

Attachments

·
Premium Member
20,301 Posts
Hey Stumpy, wanna double your money? ;)

·
Registered
504 Posts
Stumpy, let's see a close up of the markings on the right side of the slide. I see a nice crest, did you get one from the Police, Army or Air Force?

·
Registered
898 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
Double my money..

I turned down about $900 (about 37/38 times what I have in it )once,as much as I like the gun I just don't believe they are worth that much,after all they are not a GI issue,but there probably isn't too many around in that condition,a friend of mine has one out of the same batch,I should have kept all 3 of the ones I bought as they sure would have beat the 5% or so that CD's were earning over the years,but then again 95/98% and better GI's were selling for the same price(private individual sales) and they would have been a better bargin.I don't know if they all shoot the same but the guy I traded the 3rd one out of the batch to was a 2600+ shooter from the Army and I saw him put 5 rds. into about 2 1/2" group at 50yds. slow fire after he got the gun.

Stumpy

·
Registered
898 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
Rrotz..