1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, this might be a goofy sort of thought, but it just popped into my head. Lately I've been following some discussions on the potential ramifications of using reloads for carry, as well as the "1911 problems" thread. The reputation of Glocks came up in the latter, and I got to thinking. In the aftermath of a personal defense incident, would a jury tend to look more favorably upon someone carrying a 90 year old design than they would someone with one of those new-fangled plastic guns that obviously has no purpose other than to kill people?

zook

·
Registered
72 Posts
I think the issue is more "single action" vs. "double action" and as a lawyer I see it as a catch 22. An effective (I won't say "good") lawyer could argue that the light trigger pull on the single action may have caused you to shoot somebody you otherwise wouldn't have shot. Your response would be something like: "you bet your ass I intended to shoot, the guy was trying to kill me" or words to that effect. With a double action, if there is a double or more tap, the effective lawyer argues that the difference in trigger pull resulted in an unnecessary follow-up shot. Same response.

Personally, I would argue that the reason for carrying a 1911 is that the redundant safeties demonstrate my respect for human life. You are going to be in trouble if you pin the grip safety in a personal defense weapon.

Bob

·
Registered
364 Posts
zook,