1911Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am fairly new to the 1911 scene and my first is a CD FS two tone.

I am impressed so far, especially for the money. I read here that the later FS models that had CD in the SN were turning out better and that is what I have.

Anyway, I wanted to jazz it up a bit, so I added some SS hex head grip screws, wrap around finger groove grips, and a full lenght guide rod.

Anybody else use a full lenght guide rod on their CD? how do you know it works correctly?

Also, I want better sights, where do I go?

·
Registered
2,845 Posts
As long as you've installed the FLGR correctly (gun won't work otherwise), it's "working".

Basically all a FLGR is good for is a bit of extra weight, as it has no other real function that would in any way justify it's cost.

Personally I like them on competition guns for the weight, but use a modified 2-piece Group Gripper FLGR so that I have the heavy spring pushing against a stock link to help with a consistent lockup. The modified link is prone to cause jams and I can't see how it performs any better than my setup.

My EFS doesn't have a FLGR at this time.

The finger groove grips are only good if they fit your hand.

I'm still waiting for some kind of answer from CD as to what kind of dovetail they use for their sights. James beam will liely check in on the sights as I believe the FS model uses a standard dovetail rear sight.

It's best not to start adding stuff to a 1911 until you have some sort of need for it. So far you've spent a bit of money, yet still have a crappy non-adjustable trigger and cast extractor.

Trigger and extractor replacment is a top priority on these pistols, and there's quite a few other cast parts that could be replaced before you need to spend money on "jazzing" it up.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the input,