1911Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to this thread, so I need to figure out how to post this...

I'm an IDPA shooter and use a stainless Kimber Classic. At last week's club match, I had a malfunction that I thought was a random incident... the slide catch slipped out of the frame just about a 1/4 inch during a string of fire. My first indication of trouble was when the slide did not lock back after the last round was fired. I quickly pushed the slide catch back in place and continued with the match.

But today, I went to the range to practice for the upcoming classifire and this time on my second round, the slide catch ejected completely from the gun. Being in ankle deep grass, it took me and a few friends a little while to find the little bugger.

After replacing it in the gun, the slide catch again slipped out and fell onto the ground. On the fourth or fifth shot after reinstalling it, the catch again slipped out 1/4 inch, but by this time, I was spending more time watching the slide catch than I was watching my front sight.

Anyone here have that problem before? or at least... have a solution? Someone said it might be that the barrel link is getting a little worn. I shoot about 3000 rounds a year and the gun is about three years old.

Oh, I don't know if this is relevent, but I replaced ALL the springs (incl the detent spring... the one that rides against the thumb safety and slide catch) a few months ago with a spring package from Wilsons Combat, but the gun has worked fine for the past several months, but this problem has just started...

Again, any suggestions will be appreciated.

Thanks
:( :(

·
Registered
33 Posts
Crazy!

You might try posting on this problem on pistolsmith.com. Maybe someone has experienced this too.

Good luck.

·
Registered
1,139 Posts