1911Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im a newbie to Kimbers and am picking a CCW rig. I like the 1911 style firearms and want to know the differences between the two. They both seem very much alike. Would you go for the stainless or regular finish? Anything else is always appreciated, espically recommended holsters for IWB.

Thanks for reading.

·
Registered
21,912 Posts
Ultra carry is smaller, suggest you refer to a Kimber catalog or well stocked dealer for details. Their website isn't much help on dimensions, but you can look at the pretty pictures.
I would definitely want stainless for IWB.

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the quick reply.

Kimber's site wasnt helpful, you are right. Im not to worried about dimensions. I knew one was smaller than the other, im leaning to the Pro Carry as its a little bigger.

·
Registered
735 Posts
Ultra = 3" barrel, aluminum frame, nice rig. I would go for the stainless model or the ultra CDP II. The CDP has gone through the custom shop and is designed for carry, has the melted contoured slide, night sites, ambi saftey.

Pro-Carry = 4" barrel, alu frame, full size grip, nice gun. (stainless)

Compact = 4" barrel, steel frame, shorter grip for easy carry, stainless, IMO a very nice carry gun. (stainless)

Holsters =

Milt Sparks ~ Versa Max II

or the latest one I like is from,

Law Concealment Systems ~ LCS II Concealment Holster

Both are very nice for IWB carry.

www.miltsparks.com
www.handgunconcealment.com

After proper break in I would not have any problem carrying any of the guns listed in the holsters listed.

I hope this helps.
Good luck!!!!!! :)

·
Registered
324 Posts

If you have to reholster alot..look into a VMII.
For 'after hours' I like the Warch six.
Both are created by Milt Sparks

More info on the Kimbers: