1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
145 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Kimber Warrior Review (Novice Opinions) NOW WITH PICS!

I just received a NIB Kimber Warrior for my 17th birthday. I am a total and complete novice when it comes to the 1911 platform. Yes, I occasionally shot a few different models at the range and my grandfather (my range buddy) shoots a Springfield Armory Mil-Spec model.

That is the extent of my 1911 knowledge. What originally drew me into the 1911 platform was the feel of the gun in your hand. With the 1911 you know you are getting a "gun". The pistols are heavy compared to my Beretta 96 Vertec, or HK USP .40 S&W. Loading up an eight round .45 ACP magazine with 230gr. Ball is a fun experience in itself. The rounds are big. They honestly dwarf the little 9mm rounds, and puts the .40 S&W is in its shadows. To put it into simple terminology the gun is just plain cool.

After I knew I wanted a 1911 is was a simple matter of choosing a model. My price range, at first, was modest. I was originally drawn to the simple Springfield Loaded. Great features at an excellent price. Then I began to look at Kimber. They have some contracts with several agencies and Kimber has no problem at all with letting the consumers know it. Kimber obviously spends a lot on marketing as one can always see their advertisements gracing the back cover of Guns and Ammo or Shootings Times. Being a young and impressionable young teen they hooked me.

So I then looked into Kimber. My first choice was the Kimber TLE. The gun looked great and had nice features. So I asked around on the forums from people who would know best about this type of thing. Most said it would be a great choice but I always heard the Warrior coming up. Hmmm. I grabbed an old American Rifleman magazine and looked through it and saw an article on the Kimber Warrior. It looked neat and the grips at first were disgusting.