1911Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys. I just had a strange experience with KY imports. Prompted by their ad in the Shotgun News, I decided that I was going to order one of the Argentine Sistema .45 pistols (the ones with the airforce markings) using my C&R. When I called them to place an order and announced that I was a Massachusetts resident, I was told that there was "bad news", and that they are prohibited by federal law from selling this gun to a Mass resident. KY was nonplussed by my polite assertions that there is no such federal law, nor even a state law, which should prevent me from purchasing said firearm, and that I have purchased C&R handguns from other sources in the last 6 months without problem. Anyway, I was told to call back on Monday to speak with a supervisor, but was cautioned not to "get my hopes up".
What's the deal? I know Mass laws are confusing, but unless I'm totally half-cocked here, there is absolutely no law which would prevent the sale of this firearm to a Mass C&R holder.
Any hints, tips, suggestions? (other than moving)
I'd like to get a Sistema straight from JLD again, but they won't have any for another six weeks.
Help!
Thanks,
vanfunk

------------------
semper ubi sub ubi

·
Administrator
10,856 Posts
Just off the top of my head, I seriously doubt that Federal law singles out Massachusetts residents for discrimination. I believe they leave that to the Massachusetts state government... which does a fine job, if what I hear is true.

TB., NC

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter #3