1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Premium Member
91 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Got the CBOB on Friday evening, too late to make it to the range, so I spent the evening with the DH on the kitchen island...cleaning our guns. Nice quality time for non-newlyweds! ;)

Saturday we went to our local public range, where we have unlimited time membership. It gets crazy busy on the weekends, but it's a nice clean modern range with motorized target carriers --and heat!

Got there around noon, and put about 300 rounds of Federal 230 grain FMJ through her. I experienced one failure to feed early on, which I blamed on operator error (mine) in failing to seat the factory magazine completely. My husband did experience one other at about round 200, in the middle of the same magazine.

I started at 21 feet, just to get a feel for her. This is my first time using night-sights, and I found them very dim and hard to see the front sight in the indoor lighting. I wanted to move out to 45 or 50 feet (the farthest this range offers), but the the lights were not working at the end of the lane I was using, so the target was in the dark. The place was full, so I couldn't change lanes. Next time!

This visit was mostly just to put as many rounds through the CBOB as possible, while having much fun doing it! I think if I'd charged a fee for all the people that wanted to handle and shoot her, I'd have covered my ammo costs! :eek:

All in all, very smooth sailing! The biggest problems I experienced were the dim front sight (I missed the gold bead I'm used to) and the grip screws working loose by the end of the afternoon.

What a dream to shoot! The CBOB fits my hand like it was made for me, and the trigger was smooth and broke like the proverbial glass rod.

I might explore changing the front sight to something more visible in indoor light or daylight, but otherwise she's perfect!

So, here are my targets: