1911Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First off, I am a police officer and a SWAT team operator. I have a stainless Para LDA 16.40 law enforcement version (bobbed hammer). I've had the pistol for almost 2 years now, and have loved every minute of it....until : I was getting ready for work one night and was checking my equipment. I racked the slide on the LDA and dry-fired it. When I racked the slide to the rear again, the Firing Pin Stop fell off the rear of the slide and on to the floor !!! The firing pin had not reset. I put the Firing Pin Stop back in place and pressed the plunger under the slide and the firing pin popped back in to place and held the Firing Pin Stop in place as it should. I thought everything was OK, but I racked the slide several more times and the Firing Pin Stop fell out again. I then sent the pistol back to Para for repair, which was very fast. I had the gun back in exactly 1 week, including shipping time. I shot the gun approximately 150 more times, and the same problem occured. What the Hell ??? Has anyone heard of this before ??? How can it be fixed ??? That is rediculous !!! An $800 pistol that won't shoot after factory repair work.

Well...I sent the gun back a second time and they replaced the extractor and the firing pin stop. I took it to the range this past Saturday and it would not fire more than two shots without failing to extract the spent cartridge !!!!!

I called Para today and spilled my guts to them, and they finally agreed to send me a new pistol !!!! I am so relieved.

·
Registered
6 Posts
sorry to hear about your problems. I to had some minor problems with my P-13 but the factory made it right and they did it quick so I am still verry satisfied.

·
Registered
3,163 Posts
I have a 1640 LDA LTD. Mine showed up with an assortment of "minor" problems (if there is such a thing on a brand new $900 gun) which I fixed. I have never head of a sticking firing pin.