1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How does anybody feel about Lee presses? I have a very limited budget and I'm very new to reloading anything but shot shells... Any info would be a great help.

·
Registered
22 Posts
The Lee progressive presses are junk in my opinion. Helped a friend set up his Lee progressive and was not impressed with its construction nor its reliability. Lots of cheap plastic and pot metal parts. Very prone to jamming. My advice to you is to get a Dillon.
Bill Go

·
Registered
116 Posts
I've heard lot's of bad opinions of Lee progressives. On the other hand, the owner of the range where I shoot has three Pro1000's and swears by them.

I have two Lee single-stage presses now. They're great little presses. The Challenger model. They do the job while I'm saving for my Dillon.

Dave

·
Registered
38 Posts
Stay away from their progressive units. The single stage and turret models are nice to have. The single stage make a find press for small runs of oddball ammo even if you have a dillon.

------------------

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks for the info, how much will a entry level Dillon run me? and what else do I need to buy to start cranking out ammo?

·
Registered
841 Posts
Try to see if anyone in your local area is selling off reloading equipment. I've gotten some really good deals that way. If you are in no hurry to get started then this is the route I would recommend. Ebay is another place you can shop at, but bidding can go nuts there (which is why I love to sell stuff there). If you go there, know your max and stick to it. You may end up bidding on quite a few machines till you win one at the price you want.

You'll need a press of course.
Scale
Powder Measure
Calipers
Primer flip tray if you get a progressive press

Dies for each caliber you plan on reloading
Tumbler

Of course you'll need brass, bullets, powder, and primers.

·
Registered
416 Posts