1911Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to 1911s and see no reason my first one shouldn't be a good one. That being the case, can anyone suggest either a Les Baer SRP, Premier II Super Tac or an Ed Brown Special Forces pistol as that very special first 1911? I own several handguns in a variety of calibers, but all are revolvers. Any ideas out there?

·
Registered
177 Posts
layvuz4, I bought my first LB a couple of months ago. After looking over the line up I went with the SRP w/ the 1.5" grouping finished in hard chrome. It never jams & always eats up the X ring. I don't particularily care for the Trijicon sights that it came with but I'll get that changed out easy enough.
Methinks the next one will be the Monolith w/ the 1.5".
I'm sure whichever one you go with, you'll be very pleased. This was probably my 5th or 6th 1911 & definitely one of the keepers.

·
Registered
139 Posts
If "very special" to you would include a wooden display box, I'd say the SRP would be hard to beat. If the box doesn't flip any positive switches for ya, I would say that whichever of the guns you listed would qualify in most books as top-shelf. Some help I am huh...:biglaugh:

·
Registered
265 Posts
I'm new to 1911s and see no reason my first one shouldn't be a good one. That being the case, can anyone suggest either a Les Baer SRP, Premier II Super Tac or an Ed Brown Special Forces pistol as that very special first 1911? I own several handguns in a variety of calibers, but all are revolvers. Any ideas out there?
What do you intend to use it for, and do you want fixed sights or adjustable sights? Answer those two questions and I can be of more help.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5