1911Forum banner

Les baer TR or Wilson Combat CQB?

5653 63
Ok, I have read many comments out there but can still not figure out where I want to spend my $2000 on. I thought I wanted a Kimber but there are just way too many problem stories I have read. I want a high quality gun that will last a lifetime with the proper care. After all the research I have come down to Thunder Ranch or CQB. Give me all your good and bad on each please. Just so you know, I have over 20 years of military handgun experience and I feel that I am a above average marksman. Thanks!!
1 - 20 of 64 Posts

· Registered
848 Posts
Customer satisfaction

Wilson's built me a custom 1911 out of a pistol I supplied. They stand behind everything they do, even if its a stupid mistake on my part. No hard time, no hassle, they just take care of it.
The gun is a true work of art.
At a family reunion, when everyone got out their new guns, they all gathered around mine.

My next one is going to be a Baer Premier II.
Wait about 6 months and I'll let you know which one I like better.

· Registered
152 Posts
I have a friend who worked for Wilson in the near past. They have had a massive amount of "stuff" lately. All kinds of quality issues. He doesn't work for them anymore...though...for the time he did, it changed his mind on let's say certain things.

They will not admit it, but the do use Kimber frames. They weld over the grip safety disconnector hole. Then finish over it.

My experience with TR's has been stellar. I have three friends who have owned four Baer TR's between them. Nothing but good stuff.

Just my few cents....

Kevin

· Registered
848 Posts
They will not admit it, but the do use Kimber frames. They weld over the grip safety disconnector hole. Then finish over it.
Gunmetal: Really? I'll believe that when I see the Kimber truck at Wilsons loading dock, and their Master Award Winning Gunsmiths with a welder in their hand.