1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Banned
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I think it would be nice to share some stories. This is about lessons learned from service and life in general.

Recount your own experiences or relate the stories of others. Hindsight is 20/20 and reviewing actual events is always helpful. Sharing some general info about ourselves and our perspectives may help.

I have been carrying concealed for 10 years and have never, in the civilian world, had to clear the holster in defense of myself or others (knock on wood).

Years ago, I was a bodyguard. Mostly on small details or individually.

I am also a former U.S. Army Cavalry Scout. I participated in the invasion of Iraq with a Brigade Reconnaissance Team (OIF I). After that, I got to go through Airborne School, which was a hoot. Then another 12 month stabilization tour with a Brigade-level Command Security Detachment (OIF 3), which is funny because I was right back to protection details.

Now I'm back to the real world and getting on with my life.

Early in my CCW experience, I had a negligent discharge -- which was a real eye-opener to say the least. I was trying things out with a *loaded* Compact CZ-75 decocker. What was I trying to do? Lower the hammer to the full-down position with the decocker and trigger. Stupid. Thumb slipped and the round went down through the second story floor and exploded a 2x4 between floors. No injuries, thankfully, and the round stopped there. There were people downstairs. I've learned a lot since then, but it still amazes me that I could have ever been that stupid.