1911Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
949 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey folks,

I have little or no knowledge about lever guns - except that I've realized lately that I really want one. I'm not sure why exactly. :biglaugh: Maybe it is because I want guns - and I have been thinking of buying a new rifle to celebrate my new job. :)

So - I've looked around and seen that the Marlin 1894 is popular, as is the Winchester model 94. Does anyone have experience with Henrys? For some reason the .44 rem mag in a lever gun appeals to me. Again, I'm not sure where I'm getting that idea along with that I'm not sure where I'm getting the sudden impulse to get a lever gun.

Does anyone have experience with these to throw my way? I'm guessing the gun will mostly be used to plink with (as are most of my guns, really), as well as a bit of hunting if it strikes me to hunt with a lever gun. Will I suffer in accuracy much compared to my bolt guns?

Throw some info at me, folks! Like I said I don't know much of anything about lever guns. What you say might affirm my impulse or destroy it!

Thanks!

·
Banned
1,370 Posts
I am no expert on the Lever guns, cowboy shooting or anything for that matter :biglaugh:

I do have a Marlin 1894 C in .357 and a Winchester 94 Trapper in .44 Rem Mag.

I haven't had eith to the range yet, I have about half a dozen that haven't made the trip yet either.

Both were bought at Big 5 and Big 5, Walmart and a few other places order their inventory with somewhat cheap wood than say Sportsman's Warehouse or a normal gun shop....hence they run about $100 less when you find them on sale.

The Winchester seems to have the better finish/deeper bluing and less visable tool/machine marks on the receiver than the Marlin. The Marlin does feel a bit tighter and has a little less side to side lever slop than the Winchester

I do prefer the short barrel of the Trapper (16 Inches) but the 18 inch barrel on the Marlin is doable.