1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
As many as my wife will allow.
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all, I'm relatively new to the 1911 world. The issue firearm is a SA .45 Loaded Operator. Lower internals have been completely replaced (excluding ejector) with Wilson parts by a reputable gunsmith. Only modification to upper is a full length guide rod/spring, also Wilson. Also use Wilson 8rd mags if that matters.
I have as of today seen this twice. I unload the firearm of Speer 230gr Gold Dot and find that the primer has what looks like a light strike on the edge.
Weapon has had no failure in approx. 450rds since the gunsmithing. Only fired about 200 rounds prior to this and did not notice this but also did not carry it at that time.
Fired rounds have centered and good strikes (see pic). Picture is the Federal aluminum case 230gr but have same on standard brass, Winchester, Blazer ect. including the Speer Gold Dot and Federal HST/Hydra carry rounds.
Only thing I have found as a possible cause is the round hitting the ejector when unloading due to the round being blocked by the hand. I don't think I'm guilty of this, but we rarely want to blame ourselves right?
I obviously don't want to pose a safety risk and damn sure don't want to be "the one" that has a ND. So for now its back to my Glock for my EDC.
Anyways any help or insight would be greatly appreciated. I absolutely love this gun and for now I have a $1500 safe queen until I can afford some more time at the range to do some testing, as my gunsmith has a 3 month line as of now.
Thanks
20210122_030457.jpg 20210122_030330.jpg 20210122_034117.jpg

·
Registered
301 Posts
is your firing fin hanging up in the slide and possibly hitting the round while being loaded.

Test might be to "make sure gun is empty" dry fire it and slowly open the slide while looking at the firing pin area in the breech face to see if the FP is sticking out.