1911Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey from East Tn.
I'm an IPSC shooter; usually shoot the Para P-16 in Limited and, I'm fairly new to reloading.
Does anyone know of (or know where I can find) loads for a 230gr lead bullet in .40 caliber? I seem to shoot best the heavier the bullet and, I've seen that 230gr bullet sold on the Internet, but, nobody seems to know anything about loading them!
I generally load my 40's with V-N350, Win 231 or Win Superfield. Any suggestions?

·
Registered
48 Posts
A 230gr. bullet in a 40?????? Surely this must be a mistake. You must mean a 45. N350 will give you some of the highest velocity loads in the 45. There are a number of websites for powder companies that have loading data. Since you are new in loading, I would advise to get a couple of loading manuals and stick to the recipes exactly. DO NOT try to extrapolate. Loads for a 230gr lead bullet, a 230gr FMJ bullet, and a 230gr jacketed hollowpoint are likely to be quite different. Different brand primers can result in different pressures also.

·
Registered
48 Posts
I have never seen any loading data for anything heavier than a 200gr. In a 40, a 220gr bullet would be begging for a KB, IMHO. Why in the world would you want to shoot something that heavy. You could probably launch it at only about 600fps. Most people who load the 40 don't even like to load the 180gr bullets. I do though.

·
Registered
257 Posts
220s will work(though they will make the gun feel slow). Most of your IPSC 40 shooters have moved to 180s. I would try searching for Jeff Maass loading data. Most of it's gonna be going between 750-800 fps I would imagine. You might find the data with a faster powder than what your acustomed to using(N-320 and Clays come imediately to mind). Don't worry about kbs, it's been done before. Just watch your data and cases and you'll be fine.

·
Registered
484 Posts