1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Well, it had been awhile since I dealt with 1911s. My last purchase left a bad taste in my mouth, as my $1200 Springfield TRP was shooting over a foot low at 15 yards and would not cycle, nor eject properly.
I even after it returned from the factory (with a "nub" of a front sight) it still was not reliable enough as a carry piece.
Fast forward a few years to last week as I was leaving my trusted gun shop.
One of the employees is a Wilson fan and just had to show me what another customer had just traded in: a four year-old all grey CQB which had, judging by the pristine finish, been a safe/range queen.
IThe price wasright and I had to bring it home. I replaced the recoil spring, put a couple hundred of dead-on rounds down the pipe and shelved the Glock I had been carrying for the past three years.
Now I understand what you guys were talking about!

·
Registered
27,694 Posts
Nice blaster!

Nothing but range time and making good memories ahead.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)
Thanks guys, it is a sweet piece indeed.
I was able to find a Wilson Low Profile holster(made for them by Safariland) and was surprised by its quality. We are not talking Alessi grade work here, but it will serve its purpose until my "regular" holster maker can get to my order in a month or so. It had been several years since I bough any leather and could not believe how scarce available quality holsters are. :grumble:

·
Banned
1,713 Posts
Nice gat. I have one myself with 26,000 through it hardly a bobble except for new mags now and then. Good holsters are hard to find. I like the practicality of Kydex but good leather might be needed for concealment. I have a Milt
Sparks EX that I have been using for 15 years or so. It works great for all of my 1911's.

·
Registered
25 Posts