1911Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everybody. This is my first post. So bear with me. I recently acquired my first ever 1911. It is a 1972 colt combat commander. LOVE it so far, except that I only got to put 14 rounds through it before the extractor broke on me. Those 14 rounds felt dang good though and impressed with the accuracy and easy of function. The colt just feels good. Anyways I was wondering who I should get a new extractor from. Any suggestions? Also if y'all have any tips on spare parts I should keep handy I'd appreciate it. Like I said I'm a newb to the 1911 platform.

P.s. I would also appreciate it if could get some info on the different finishes out there. The colt looks like it's about 41 years old. About right. It's blued now.
Thanks

·
Registered
326 Posts
Welcome to the forum oregongunner. You could post an ad in the parts section of his forum for parts. You could also check at coltsmfg.com and some auction sites like gunbroker. Hope you get it fixed soon!

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
The colt website is out of stock. I will have to look into the wilson. But I've heard there good to. I was also curious if I got a good deal on the colt. I picked it up for $650 with 2 mags, 100 rounds of fmj and the guy said he will pay for the cost of the extractor. I got it from a match shooter. The colt has had work done by a well known gunsmith in my area. Trigger work, feed ramp has been polished and worked on, fiber optic sights, and an oversized mag release. But it has seen some use. Look good still, it's just time for a new finish.

·
Registered
4,138 Posts
I'd go with Wilson or Ed Brown or Les Baer if it' a pain to deal with Colt. Brownell's should have any ya want.

·
Registered
835 Posts
I agree with Kevyn - a Wilson Combat extractor is the way to go if you can't get a genuine Colt part. I have had a very bad experience with another name brand extractor.

·
Registered
279 Posts