1911Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
456 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i picked up a used older AO took it out and after 2 mags the front sight took a hike :mad: I looked for it for a little while but no telling where it went.So I ordered a new sight and staking tool from Brownells. I guess I get to try my hand at staking on a sight.I have never done this before so any tips or tricks would be great.Its a narrow tenon if that makes any difference.Thanks Roy

·
Registered
356 Posts
I would greatly consider having a dovetail cut and front sight pinned on for that reason

·
Registered
761 Posts
I have found that if sights are staked on properly that they will last the lifetime of the pistol. Look at all of the old government pistols still around, heck, they fought in several wars with staked on sights. It's no different than staked on plunger tubes. A lot of factory guns have loose plunger tubes because they are not staked on properly, but if they are done right, they last the lifetime of the pistol also.

Here is a 'Cliff's Note's' rundown on staking a sight with a Mini Machine. I wouldn't reccomend the arsenal staking tool, it's not a very good method, and difficult to get right, although not impossible. The cost of the MMC tool might make it a little expensive to do at home though.

First you would need to take this area

And cut a well in it with a carbide cutter

Gather up your MMC sight staking tool

Align and install your sight

Stake it

And 'viola!, your done.

But, like I said, you would be dollars ahead having someone do it.
Hope this helps.
***Thanks to Dave Sample for providing the images.

·
Registered
456 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks from what I have found ,cuttting the "well" on the inside seems to be the trick.I took my slide off and the sight that was on there was staked but without any signs of a well for the metal to swage into.Which is probably why it came off in the first place.Thanks again.

·
Banned
597 Posts