1911Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK so im looking to buy my first handgun, and I have done extensive research on all kinds of guns. I have decided that I do want to get a 1911 of some kind mostly because I've heard good things about them and they fit very nicely in my hand compared to other guns. So the question on my mind is what is a good 1911 (full frame) that I can purchace between 500 and 700 dollars that can be used for sport and protection? I also would like to get into some type of amature competition shooting and I want a gun that would be able to at least shoot as strait as I can. Based on everything that I have looked at so far I really like the Dan wesson PM1-S. I think It will satify my needs more than other models however you guy's imput would be greatly apreciated since I am pretty new at the whole handgun thing.

·
Registered
272 Posts
I know you say you want a 1911, but you might also consider a glock. They are good all around guns, very reliable, and are ideal for defense and good for competition. In fact a 9mm glock is hard to beat in USPSA production or IDPA SSP.

IF you read a bit on here, or do a search, you may find that these 1911s tend to need tweaking or gunsmith work to be made reliable.

New glocks can be had for $450 on gunbroker on gunsamerica.

·
Registered
717 Posts
For those that like the plastic ying yangs. I dont like to admit that I own one but... I like my sig pro 9mm much better than the glock. You can get them for the same price and they seem much better quality. Mine has fed everything I have ever put in it and never jamed. Very accurate also. I also like the DA/SA with decocker better than the hokey glock trigger saftey. I must say I like shooting my DW's the best, there is nothing like a 1911, but the sig is in my night stand because I know it will work every time. I have yet to own a 1911 that hasn't failed at least once for one reason or another.

·
Registered
8,648 Posts