1911Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
698 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am relatively new to the M1 Carbine and have some questions concerning magazines. It is my understanding that a good Carbine is pretty much utterly reliable when you stick to the 15 round U.S.G.I. mags. I have heard questionable report, however, as to the performance of the 30s. I have been told that if I want to use 30s, to definitely stick with U.S.G.I. 30s and no aftermarket. What are your opinions on this? Also where is the best source/best price on 15 round U.S.G.I. mags brand new in wrap? How about 30s? Thanks!

Edited for typo correction thanks to BillD.:D

·
Registered
27,704 Posts
Sundance said:
I am realatively new to the M1 Carbine.
Would that be anything like relatively new? :D

Sorry, couldn't resist after your two brake or break comments. One I could have resisted but not two.:cool:

·
Registered
173 Posts
Depending on who you ask, even some of the USGI 30 round mags are a bit iffy. You might think about having extra springs and followers on hand in case you get a bum mag, just to be on the safe side.

·
Registered
698 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Sorry, couldn't resist
I guess I had it coming. That's what I get for hitting submit before I proofread.
Muzzle "brake" has just got to be the most mis-spelled word on this forum.

·
Registered
992 Posts
I bought 5 USGI 30 rounders, and none of them worked. I replaced the springs and followers, and none of them worked. I've tried a couple of others, and none of them worked. I've had no problems with the 15 rounders. I wish I could find some reliable 30's but I have gotten tired of buying ones that don't work. I don't feel right selling them to someone else, when they don't function at all. For now, they sit in the closet and gather dust.