1911Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I purchased a P-16 LTD that only came w/ 1 high cap mag. It’s a great shooter. It’s had some work to include an oversized mag well. My question is what’s the smartest way (cheapest) to go about getting more mags for it? Build them from scratch? Buy Pro-mags and change the base pad????????
I’m a single stack defense/ tactical guy, looking to try something new (limited/limited 10) so I’m new to this fat body thing and thought that I’d ask before a started to shell out the bucks! Thanks.

Knick

·
Banned
14,948 Posts
In my experiences, factory Para mags work the best. Pricey - yes. Reliable - yes.

·
Registered
3,878 Posts
Knick, if you live in the U.S. it would be illegal to build your mags from scratch.

Just wanted you to know before you got yourself in hot water :) .

Jeff

·
Registered
147 Posts
Mags

Dawson Precision specifically advised me that the Para mags are far superior in Para guns. They said they have had trouble using the STI mags in the Para specifically. I went with their advise and have had zero mag issues.

·
Registered
3,163 Posts
I have also heard of bad news using Pro mags in Paras. I just bit the bullet and paid for the para mags. I found them for $47 at one of the parts houses (I think it is Andean). Cheaper Than Dirts is about $56 if I recall correctly.

·
Registered
3,163 Posts
BTW: you'll notice I posted the same question about ten clicks down (1640 mags). FWIW, I did check Gunbroker but they have only .45 mags for Para. The .40 mags are not common so there are no used ones floating around. That's why I ended up shelling out $47/each for 1640 mags at Andean.

·
Registered
673 Posts