1911Forum banner

Magwells

1101 8
I am a brand new Kimber owner. After shooting revolvers for years I am a newbie 1911 owner. I have a question about magwells. I see them on some of the guns pictured on this site and not on others. What are the advantages or any disadvantages of adding a magwell. Thanks for you patience and assistance.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

· Registered
1,230 Posts
Well the advantages would be faster easier reloads and you would get rid of the factory plastic mainspring housing. I guess it would give a little protection to the frame if the pistol was dropped.

The disadvantages if it's a carry gun would be a little more weight and the grip is longer and a little harder to conceal than a shorter grip. A different set of grips are needed if you want them to blend in with the magwell.

Other than the above I guess it depends if you like the looks of them.

· Registered
273 Posts
Personally I love the look. I added it to my Warrior and then when I bought a Pro Carry, I knew it needed one too!

The extra 1/4" when carrying doesn't bother me. They do seem to be a little faster to reload.

Here is my Warrior and Pro Carry with them on.

· Registered
596 Posts
There are many different brands. However the ones posted above by Unforgiven look like Smith & Alexander mag wells.

Unforiven, please confirm mnfr. Thanks.

· Registered
3,378 Posts
unforgiven5150 said:
Personally I love the look. I added it to my Warrior and then when I bought a Pro Carry, I knew it needed one too!

The extra 1/4" when carrying doesn't bother me. They do seem to be a little faster to reload.

Here is my Warrior and Pro Carry with them on.
To me, I don't like the way a 1911 loks w/o one - They mage the gun look better.