1911Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
181 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the world of 1911s and new the 1911Forum.com. I have always liked 1911s, but it was lower on my list-of-guns-to-buy. The 1911 moved to the top of the list on September 11th. I discovered this board while doing some research for my purchase. I settled on a slightly used Parkerized 2001 SA Champion about 2 months ago.

I love the gun, but was very frustrated by recurring ftf’s using “remanufactured” lead round nose ammo. (My gun club requires non-jacketed ammo only.) The slide would often stop 1/8” to ¼” from going into battery. I started thinking of changing 101 things and was questioning my purchase; but the advice on this board, plus that of some experienced 1911 fans with whom I shoot, proved invaluable.

A friend suggested I gently pry the magazine lips apart slightly to promote better feeding. Many posts on this board suggested trying different brands of ammo and allowing sufficient break-in time.

A combination of all three things solved the problem. I lucked into a brand of remanufactured ammo that my pistol seems to digest well (Carroll Small Arms), in addition to trying some new FMJ ammo at a different range to diagnose the problem. I’m very glad that I could benefit from the good advice on the board and hope that a few others will benefit from my experience.

I hope the ftf problem is gone for good. I may still buy a couple of Wilson or McCormick magazines, but it’s good to know that everything is working well and the problem appears to be solved.

I have found so much useful information in many areas of the forum, but it seemed best to me to post this here, since there have been a few Champion owners in particular with similar problems.

Thanks again to everyone who freely shared their knowledge and experience. Good shooting!

·
Registered
2,395 Posts