1911Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
466 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
so im new to reloading and im waiting on a few supplies but i couldnt help playing around with everything and i noticed that the 45acp cases weigh in *deprimed* COMPLETELY different, i mean large amounts, have any of you noticed this? does it cause any issues when weighing out with powder for consistency checks? or am i just reading to much into this lol

·
Registered
5,698 Posts
There is a signficant difference in empty, deprimed cases depending on headstamp (manufacturer). I haven't kept records, but 5-6 grains, or even a little more, comes to mind between one headstamp and another. Within a given headstamp, the variance seems to be +/- a couple of grains at most.

I'm personally an advocate of weighing loaded rounds looking for squib (no powder) loads and have been successful doing so. The rounds have to be weighed by headstamp however, or the data is so jumbled that its not very usable. I just sort loaded rounds by headstamp, weigh them, and look for the grossly low-weight examples and go from thre.

Some one will be along who will claim this doesn't work, but it does--for me.
Haven't missed one yet.

·
Registered
466 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thanks i was just making sure i wasnt the only one, but i mean some of the differences was outstanding i had some SPEER 45acp brass deprimed and noticed a +/- of .25 in some, which to me was just mind boggling. i have sorted them and im keeping a detailed record of all cuz its just interesting data to me, so far the most inconsistent seems to be the Wolf ammo.

·
Registered
910 Posts
Most of us don't reload any wolf ammo ( I think its all steel anyway / not brass ) - but you're right, there is a big deviation in the weight of cases - especially between different head stamp brands.