1911Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings,

Just had to tell you guys I just got back from the range after shooting my new parkerized MillSpec for the first time. I put 100 rounds through it and I couldn't be more pleased. Holding the pistol with 2 hands, and with my elbows on the bench, I was getting bulls eyes and groups of 2 to 4 inches at 20 yards. Several groups had 2 or 3 shots touching in less than an inch. I never expected that the accuracy would be so great. Right now, it shoots better than I do. I'm still learning how to control my shots.

BTW, the web area of my right hand between thumb and first finger really hurts. Am I holding the pistol wrong, or do I need a differently shaped beaver tail safety?

Anyway, I think I made the right choice. I paid $479.00 for the gun at a recent gun show in my area. I'm going to wait quite some time before I start to upgrade any parts so I can become very familiar with the gun.

Waaho,

Dave.

·
Banned
922 Posts
GunStudent said:
. . . . . the web area of my right hand between thumb and first finger really hurts. Am I holding the pistol wrong, or do I need a differently shaped beaver tail safety?
Congrats on getting a good one. Just curious, is it an NM serial number, or just an N number?

As for your hand, are you holding the gun with your thumb under or on top of the thumb safety when you shoot? The original design such as the Milspec/GI was meant to be fired with your thumb under the safety, wrapped around the grip. A few years ago it became popular among competition shooters (which spread to amateurs) to shoot with the thumb on top of the safety to add a bit of leverage to help control muzzle rise. Holding the thumb on top of the safety often resulted in the web of the hand being pinched between the hammer and the tang - the famous hammer bite. Thus, the beavertail grip safety was born.