1911Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was in the Navy from Sept '81 to Sept '03. When I was a young Petty Officer we carried .45's on the quarterdeck. Not until after my retirement did I gain an interest in gun collecting and am trying to find out what the make was of the .45's we carried. I'm thinking they were S.A.'s but not 100% certain.

Any help much appreciated.

·
Registered
308 Posts
i was a gunner's mate in the nav. from '84-94 (2 ships and the seabees). all .45s were WW2 vintage colt. rem-rand and ithaca with a darned few US&S that i remember. we sent a bunch to crane, ind. for rebuild/check while i was in. most of the .45s i saw were in pretty good shape and shot like you'd expect a GI .45 to shoot: good!

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
koshnaranek said:
i was a gunner's mate in the nav. from '84-94 (2 ships and the seabees). all .45s were WW2 vintage colt. rem-rand and ithaca with a darned few US&S that i remember. we sent a bunch to crane, ind. for rebuild/check while i was in. most of the .45s i saw were in pretty good shape and shot like you'd expect a GI .45 to shoot: good!
Thanks for the info.

I live about 45 minutes from Crane. Maybe I'll wander down there and talk with the old GM's.

Yes, the ones I fired were in great shape. Could always get a nice pattern on a FamFire/Qual.

Wish I had paid more attention. Spent enough time cleaning the damn things. I was an EW and everyone in Combat Systems was always on the ship's security team............naturally we got stuck with cleaning them 'cause we fired them the most.

·
Registered
1,028 Posts