1911Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
729 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I have decided to make thw switch to the 1911 for a duty wepon. I am a cop in a small semi rural city in Oklahoma, and the choice of duty weapons is wide open.

I have narrowed my choices down to three. The Smith and Wesson Blued Standard SW1911, the Kimber Custom 2 Blued, and the Springfield Park'd Loaded.

I am fairly new to 1911s, and I really dont know what is the cats meow right noe. I know the Smith is pretty well regarded, and the Kimber has its share of bad press. Any advice would be helpful and appreciated.

·
Registered
735 Posts
Well I will step out of the box here and suggest something different than what you are asking about.

To me I would spend a little extra and get a semi-custom for just a little more money.

I am going to recommend Rock River Arms for a duty gun. Here they are.

Elite Commando ~

http://www.rockriverarms.com/item-detail.cfm?ID=PS2200&storeid=1&image=pec.gif

Basic Carry ~

http://www.rockriverarms.com/item-detail.cfm?ID=PS2700&storeid=1&image=pbc.gif

At least check them out and do the homework you get way more for your money, but if money is a problem I would go with the Smith 1911.

CG.

·
Registered
729 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I have considered that route, and have actually spoke to the guys at Nowlin here in OK.

Money is the issue. I make a pittance, and have to supply all of my gear...all of it save the unifrom itself. We recently unionized, so hopefully this will change. In the event it does, a semi-custom gun will definitely be in the works.

·
Banned
922 Posts