1911Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
175 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi dirtyharry here and I have a 72 combat commander that needs some reliability work done and I don't just want to send it to any stooge out of phoenix school of gun smithing. :(

I'm in Iowa so if anyone has experience with any quality smiths for this type of work on a sentimental 1911 let me know. Would be willing to pay top dollar for a Professional job! Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
2,879 Posts
Wilson Combat is sorta close. John Harrison, Jim Garthwaite, Ted Yost,Jim Hoag, are top 'smiths that are taking on work, and I hear that Chuck Rogers is doing some small jobs. I've also heard good things about JoJo's Gun Works although I've never had anything done by them.

·
Super Moderator
EDC: SIG P938.
22,332 Posts
Needs some reliability work done? What's it doing, or not doing?

·
Registered
1,337 Posts
Don Williams - Action Works Pistolsmithing. I sent off my '76 Colt LW for a reliability pkg, a few up-grades & refinish. It returned 100% awesome. Price was right to... Fazer

·
Registered
2,879 Posts
+1 on Don Williams/The Action Works... He did my FM HiPower.
Regards,
Andy

·
Banned
7,484 Posts
My question is the same as Rick's: What's unreliable about this pistol?

My '67 Commander has been reliable from out-of-the-box. Only reason she's not still my carry weapon is the lack of decent sights, nothing more. And I ain't willing to cobble the slide for Novaks. :)

-- Chuck

·
Registered
175 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 · (Edited)
Well I like my pistols to rapid fire without a glitch and this one does not. I've tried tweeking the extractor a little and that helped some. Perhaps it just needs some parts adjusted and or replaced, I don't know. All my other colts will shoot anything- bang bang bang bang until your out if you want, but his one jams. I call that unreliable do you?

Attachments

·
Registered
8,545 Posts