1911Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the forums, and new to the 1911. I have been shopping around and have narrowed this decision down to the TRP Operator with the rail, or the new Kimber tactical custom II.

I am a police officer and will most likely be using the pistol as a carry at the range/target pistol. I like the look and feel of the TRP Operator, but the Kimber is growing on me too..:rolleyes:

I would like to hear from everybody about the good and bad points of both weapons. I am leaning towards the Operator, and was wondering if anyone has had any problems with theirs. Thanks in advance, and BTW the forums have been a good source for info so far!!!!:cool:

·
Registered
171 Posts
My two cents are probably only worth about 1.225 cents.

I'm a Kimber fan...and the Kimer Series two guns are gaining favor with police forces becuase of the Series II (schwarz) safety. So...your PD risk management folks would probably prefer that one.

However...I am not a fan of the Scwartz safety (extra pieces that MAY....repeat...MAY increase the liklihood of a malfunction).

The TRP (without the rail) is a less refined version of the Professional which is currently the choice of FBI HRT. I also had the pleasure to inspect, disassemble, and fire a stock TRP over the weekend.
This kills me to say....given the choice between a Series II Kimber and a TRP (operator) without the extra fluff.....I'd recommend the TRP. You won't be disappointed.

Now....if you want to do a little shopping and try to pcik up a Series I Kimber....I cannot more highly recommend one of those. I own a Stainless Pro Carry and a Gold Combat. Either would make a wonderful duty piece, home protection rig, or be the Belle on any firing range.

I envy your positon....aquisition of any of these beuatiful guns will bring you much joy.

Good hunting.

·
Banned
1,370 Posts