1911Forum banner

Need Your Help: My First SA 1911?

644 23
I'm just getting into 1911s, more for collecting than shooting.

I'm in California, so the variety is limited to due the silly roster law.

However, the Springfield Armory 1911 loaded stainless steel 7+1, #PX9151LCAIGU is occasionally in stock.

My LGS got one in last week and wants $1,149 for a new one. I looked at it in person and I like it. The price is higher than big box stores (which haven't had them in stock for at least a year), but gas and bridge tolls to get there, if they had one, negates any savings in the 1911's price.

What do you think about the collectibility (I'm open to other brands/models) and how well it is likely to maintain value or appreciate, left unfired with original box and paperwork?

Supposedly, the US is going to go into a recession. I haven't been in the gun market during a recession. Is it likely that new 1911 prices will fall and that used 1911s will enter into LGSs due to sellers needing money?

Thanks
Reactions: Michael W Cuber
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
181 Posts
Honestly, current production pistols, and relatively newer ones overall, are not really "collectible" from a true rarity, supply/demand perspective. They can just make more! No reflection on the quality, reliability, shootability of the pistol, etc. But, real collectors, and I am one of them, want older military firearms, or commercial ones, that were well made, no longer produced and can be shot and enjoyed, unless the condition dictates to keep it as a safe queen. These are the real collectibles that just keep shooting up in price and value.

So, the depth of ypur pocketbook is what determines what you can and want to collect.