1911Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
yesterday. i bought one. mnfctrd in 2001--at least that's when the promo papers in the box were dated. one owner before me, a lawyer . ultra carry II. loved shooting it. used to DAO's. lawyer had carried it, and some finish(holster) wear. no probs when i tried it out. i had never shot a .45 before, but seemed to hit the center small target several times at 15 yds. i know i must get very familiar with a gun like the 1911.
will carry concealed--this is my first CC gun.
have i bit off more than i should chew, or is it the opinion(s) of this board i am embarking on my journey with the right gun?? i am used to my husband's CZ 5 and Glock 17. we are not gun collectors.
reading some of the threads on this (new to me) site, i am wondering if i bought the "right" gun for a first time CC weapon. i AM a pretty good "crack" shot--always have been.
just want to hear any thoughts out there. i am new to this.looking back on yesterday ,in light of the threads here, the salesman seemed to be gently pointing me toward a Pro Carry II.but he felt the Ultra was in 95-98% condition.
any tho'ts appreciated--and happy holidays. many things to learn on this board.
wife of CC I...

·
Registered
483 Posts
Many of use choose single action 1911 style guns due to the nice trigger pull and the ergonomics. That is to say, we find the 1911 style easy to shoot accurately and quickly. It is the gun that dominates competitions and has served well for combat.