1911Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I went to the range yesterday to play with my new champion only to come back discouraged. It shot the first two mags just fine then I started having ejection (Thanks to those who replied, I now know it is supposed to be extractor. Thanks to all) problems.

From what I can gather (I'm new to the 1911 side of the house), is that they ejector (Extractor) is releasing the case as the slide is going the the rear. The case is not stuck as I can pull it out after I clear the gun.

The slide will continue back, try to pick up a new round and get jammed when it runs smack dab into the case.

I'm using Winchester Factory 230 FMJ, and the two factory mags that came with the gun.

Other than that it shot just as good as my Sig :)

Any suggestions? Cleaning, cockpit error, etc.

Thanks,
Bwana

[This message has been edited by Bwana (edited 01-16-2001).]

·
Registered
2,366 Posts
Sounds like an "extractor" problem, not "ejector". Maybe the extractor tension is not properly adjusted.

A call to Springfield may be in order.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
See I said I was new, ejector/extractor.

Second new gun that had to go back to the shop right off the bat.

What ever happened to quality control?

Thanks,
Bwana

·
Registered
1,987 Posts
I' m not clear on what you're describing...Could you change the wording and try again...I get the I'm discouraged part...It's," this is what happens..."
Is the pistol firing and not ejecting, is it feeding, firing, jamming? "Juan MO' Time" if you please....How's the weather up there anyway? It's sunny here and I'm headed to the range!

------------------

>>>>>>>>>>g2<<<<<<<<<<

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks for the reply.

The gun fires, the slide goes to the rear, leaving the spent shell case about 1/2 way out of the chamber.