1911Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Premium Member
92 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My dad, brother, and I just started shooting again and after reloading about 1000 rounds with my dad’s old RCBS single stage press we decided to upgrade. :) We got our Dillon XL 650, absolutely awesome. Only took about 2 hours to set up and we were off to the races. Our only problem is we are able to reload faster than we can clean brass. We chose to pass on the case feeder partially do to price but on the same note we like having to touch all the brass so be sure it's still in good shape before going into the press.

Just needed to share my excitment with everyone.

·
Registered
7,459 Posts
Congrats!

P.S.-----your powder is low. ;) Tracy

·
Registered
14,937 Posts
Your obsession with fondling brass will quickly dissipate, if you'll pony up the $$ for that casefeeder. :)

·
Registered
3,613 Posts
I have the case feeder, but still inspect every case before they get dumped into it. Unless you've got an assistant to keep the case tube filled while you crank out the rounds, you really need the case feeder to get the most out of your 650.

·
Registered
4,955 Posts
Congratulations, nice picture of the "Gipper" by the way.

·
Premium Member
92 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
After reoloading a few hundred rounds there is powder all over the turn table and in the unused primer catch tray. Is this normal or is there something wrong?

·
Premium Member
3,907 Posts
Powder on the shell plate usually means you had a round that didn't get a primer. Sometimes the primer bar will not engage properly and you will not seat a primer and then the powder gets dumped the on machine as it makes its way around the next station. Check all your rounds.

·
Premium Member
92 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
I have, i did have one bad case that the price didn't seat but there was still some powder on the machine before that. I'll have to clean just pay close attention to see if I can spot the problem.

·