1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
575 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Called one of my LGSs this morning on a hunch, and they had a California-approved Executive Target in stock. Drove over to check it out and simply couldn’t resist. No flaws or imperfections that I could find, the bore is like a mirror, a sweet 4 lb. 2 oz. trigger and with a super tight lockup but with butter smooth cycling. It is sitting in 10-day jail now, but not before I snapped a couple of crappy cell phone photos. But when I get her home, I will post some photos that even birdy would be envious off..

(Just kidding, birdy - no way I have your skills!:()

In any event, I have a new Wilson Combat Snag-Free gold bead front sight for it, and tomorrow I'll get in touch with Brian at Challis Grips for some fancy new clothes for baby. I'd like to get a flush crowned muzzle as well, at some point soon.

Only thing I'm not sure of is the Gen III coated finish. While it is certainly nice looking, this particular piece will not be a carry weapon, and if I want to have additional custom work performed (such as rear slide serrations or a chamfered slide stop hole) then I would need to need to have the frame and slide re-finished. It also appears that the controls (safeties, releases, etc.) are Gen II coated as well, yes?

So my question to all you knowledgable Ed Brown owners, do you know if the Gen III Exectutive Target is stainless or carbon steel? If carbon, then bluing would be a refinishing option. ... I guess I could just call Ed and ask him...

Thanks, guys!

Crappy cell phone photo…
Phone Photo in Store.jpg

BTW, this is probably a dumb question, but how do you insert an actual photo (as opposed to an "attachment") into a post? I checked the Forum's FAQs, but must have missed something.

·
Premium Member
5,753 Posts
Congrats on the new Brown.

As to the base steel it can be either, all depends on how it was ordered.