1911Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
97 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
While i understand heaspace such as in rifles im new to the 1911 and basically understand it but im confused about what the barrel hood and slide ledges were the barrel face rests have to do with headspace. I know if these barrel areas are to big the lugs in barrel and slide will not engage properly. This is what i found in a search on a gunsmithing site and and do not see it talked about much here , so here is the QUOTE i found:

"First , let me say that a small gap between the breech face and the end of the hood is desirable for reliable function. That this gap has anything to do with headspace is a common misconception. The headspace in a semi auto is the total room provided for the cartridge case,minus the length of the cartridge case."

"Now i will explain what i said. The headspace is fixed in any 1911 by the distance between the top lugs on the barrel and the breech in relation to the end of the chamber that stops the cartridge case. If this is confusing, think of it this way."

"The slide is machined with a fixed distance between the lug slots and the breech face. The barrel position is controlled by its lugs, and can only fit into this fixed space if the hood clears the breech face . The clearance should be enough to be sure of easy function even when severe fouling is present. "

"The depth of penetration of the cartridge into the barrel in relation to the lugs (chamber depth ) controls headspace because this is a fixed portion of the distance between the breech and the lugs. Headspace with any particular barrel/slide combination can be changed only by changing the chamber depth, or by replacing the barrel." end of quote.

I dont see this fixed distance in the slide talked about much when it comes to headspace but rather alot of talk about barrel hood fit . So i thought id pass this on to help others understand and to for discussion.

·
Registered
325 Posts