1911Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been shooting a Kimber Classic Custom for a few years now, and love the gun. I have a friend who is learning to shoot, and has been using my Kimber. He wants to buy his own gun, but is hesitant to buy anything other than a Kimber, since that is a gun he knows he likes, and he doesn't want to buy something he hasn't shot.

He's having a hard time, as buying a Kimber (even "just" a Classic) is a big $ outlay. So I tossed out the idea of him buying mine, let him save a couple hundred bucks.

He's thinking about it, but my question is what to replace it with? I definitely, undoubtedly, no compromises, want another 1911. But which one?

I don't want a gun that I have to send out to the gunsmith to get it "right". Money isn't really an issue, but let's not be crazy - keep the price tag under $1200. The gun is for home defense and target, not for carry. I don't compete, but might try IDPA or something someday.

What would you recommend, and why? What type of sights, grips, etc. would you go with? Consider this your chance to design your perfect gun - only I get to have it!

·
Premium Member
4,787 Posts
Welcome!

I would recommend that you keep your gun, which is a proven performer, and let your buddy worry about his own gun purchase. So many people don't realize that $1000 (or $1200 in this case) is a drop in the bucket for a good reliable 1911. Most are just fine range guns out of the box. Some aren't. For those that aren't, is your manufacturer of choice going to fix the gun right the first time? Will they also take care of shipping, or are you going to have to shell out that dough? 1911s are great guns, but since there are so many manufacturers, there really isn't a clear status quo. If I were you, and I could only afford $1200, I would either pass, or save up a few hundred dollars more.

Be well!

·
Registered
45 Posts
keep or buy used