1911Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all. First, let me say that I am not attempting to purchase or sell a firearm from any of you (geez, can someone explain why that is not allowed here? Thought this was America) Seriously though, I am new to the 1911 game and would like some advice. First, I do not even own a 1911 as of yet. I do not intend to use it for duty use, or personal defense, or even home defense. I have other firearms for that. However, there is something about that darn gun that just makes me want to own one! Ugghhhhhh, what is it about that stupid design? Gotta have one. Anyway, being that I don't have lots of money to throw around and I can only justify buying another gun to my wife when it is for duty/work purposes I am thinking about building one myself. I built my own AR-15 and saved myself several hundred dollars. I was hoping to do the same with the 1911. So here are my questions

1. Is this a viable alternative or will I end up spending the same or more as just buying a stock gun?

2. I want to use it as a "shooter" so I don't need expensive target/match grade parts...how can I tell the difference (is there a price difference?)

3. Where can I go and easily find those types of parts (please email me privately... I don't want to break the rules here). Not asking to buy from any of you...just asking you if you know of places that sell such parts....for those of you that are AR-15 fans as well I'm talking about a company like J&T or Model one that sells "kit guns".

4. Any brands/parts I should definately stay away from?

Thanks for you help

Leo6223

(note to mod....if there is something in here that is not allowable please just edit that part out and do not delete the whole message...thanks)

·
Banned
597 Posts
What's your budget? I'm betting you could buy a complete gun for less than it would cost you to buy a frame and slide combo.

·
Premium Member
20,401 Posts